The Week Ends #1: Hot Topic Bandwagon

     So, I am going to hop onto the hot topic bandwagon and write about how gay marriage got legalized across the US. I would like to start with a disclaimer that I am a bad citizen and very rarely read the news. I spent today reading a couple articles, four specifically, that contained different reactions to this event.
     First I will give you reader my personal experience with homosexuality. In high school I dated one female briefly for two reasons. 1) I was curious. 2) I have always found men and women equally attractive. Unfortunately this experiment ended terribly since in my experience with females even as friends has never really ended well. Somehow I seem to attract the type of woman who enjoys drama, and I myself like to avoid drama. But, if I was single and the right woman came into my life I would not say no just because she is female.
     From what I read today there seemed to be three responses. First there was the obvious happy response. I am part of this camp and I really liked what Justice Kennedy said. “No longer may this liberty be denied. No union is more profound than marriage, for it embodies the highest ideals of love, fidelity, devotion, sacrifice and family. In forming a marital union, two people become something greater than once they were.”
     Second there was the concern that pedophiles would soon have the same rights due to the supposed domino effect legalized gay marriage would cause. This concern I found on this website: http://allenbwest.com/2015/06/that-was-fast-yesterday-it-was-gay-marriage-now-look-who-wants-equal-rights/ . I do not think this should be a concern because I think there is a difference between a relationship between two consenting adults and an adult and a child.
     Thirdly there is the concern that organized religion, especially priests and pastors, would now be attacked if they do not comply and perform marriage rights for homosexual couples. This I got from this website:
http://nation.foxnews.com/2015/06/28/exclusive-franklin-graham-warns-gay-marriage-ruling-will-lead-christian-persecution . I do agree that it is a concern for people to be unhappy with priests and pastors who do not want to perform these ceremonies, but it is their right to refuse service to whoever they want to. What I disagreed with in the article is it said that county clerks should not have to issue out marriage licenses to homosexual couples if they did not want to. This I disagree with, because that is their job. I do not think that you should not have to do a portion of your job just because you don’t want to and especially if it is not harming anyone.
    Well, those are my thoughts on the hot topic of the week. Feel free to comment any opinions and/or information and I will gladly read it. Thank you for reading my thoughts on the subject matter.

Leave a Reply

